Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

How to delete the source files after they're copied to destination?

For technical support visit https://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
syncittome
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:47 am

How to delete the source files after they're copied to destination?

Post by syncittome »

Here's my situation - I'm doing regular backups of my C-drive with Acronis, but I don't have enough space on the external drive to store more than one backup. I want to schedule Syncback Pro to run the day after I do my Acronis backup and essentially move the backup to my network drive (I'm unable to get Acronis to backup directly to the network drive for reasons that annoy me).

So how do I set the profile to delete the source files after they're copied to the destination? I want to do a move. I don't see anything in the expert settings that matches this.

Thanks in advance!
syncittome
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:47 am

Re: How to delete the source files after they're copied to destination?

Post by syncittome »

Thanks so much! I totally missed that checkbox.
xotech
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:39 pm

Re: How to delete the source files after they're copied to destination?

Post by xotech »

The link appears to be broken.

I've been all over the check boxes and can't find it, how do you do this?
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 992
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: How to delete the source files after they're copied to destination?

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

Sorry, but you haven't stated the profile type you are using? Assuming your profile type is a Backup or Mirror type, you can configure the Profile's Modify > Expert > Decision-Files settings page to move files from Source to Destination as below:

If you are backing-up files from a standard resource (local drive or network drive), then you can configure the option "What to do if a file exists on Source but not Destination" (second section) > select "Move file to Destination"

OR

If your Source is a non-standard resource (FTP, Cloud, SyncBack Touch etc.,), then you can configure the third section of Decision-Files settings page to "Move file to Destination"

Also, enable the check box "Move the File instead of Copying it" from the first section ("What to do if the same file has been changed on Source and Destination")

Please note that only new or changed files from the Source are moved to Destination. That means, if an identical copy of a file exists on the Source and Destination prior to the Profile run then that file won't be moved to the Destination.  

Thank you.
Post Reply