Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

Delete Destination files prior to backup job

For technical support visit https://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
kon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 12:24 am

Delete Destination files prior to backup job

Post by kon »

Hi guys,

Very new to Syncback Pro. Running version 7.6.8.0.
Searched through forumns and couldnt find my answer.

I would like to set up a simple job that backups files from a Source, files from source that are only 7 days old and do a complete delete of files on Destination prior to backup job starting.

Are you able to help me with this?

Thanks in advance.
kon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 12:24 am

Delete Destination files prior to backup job

Post by kon »

Hello all,

Very new to SyncBackPro. Running v7.6.8.0.

Would like some help with what I think should be an easy solution.
I have a job set up as Type Mirror.
I basically want to copy files from Source to Destination.
Source has files that are over a month old. I only want to copy files that are 7 days old.
Destination, I only want to store that last backup. So I would like to do a delete prior to the backup job starting.

Thats it.

I hope you can help, and would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Delete Destination files prior to backup job

Post by cliffhanger »

Modify profile -> Expert -> Copy/Delete -> Advanced -> 'Delete ALL the files.....in Destination before...'

Be very careful to choose the correct side (there is a similar setting that will wipe your Source if you select it, and then run the profile...)

For the age-limit aspect, see this post. Check out the comments in the Help (press F1 with Date & Time settings page open) about 'averaged values' and how rounding-down is used. You may wish to consider using a cutoff setting of '168 hours' or '10080 minutes', etc. (rather than '7 days')
kon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 12:24 am

Re: Delete Destination files prior to backup job

Post by kon »

Hi cliffhanger,

Thank you so much for the response.

Have tried it out and has worked perfect for me.
Post Reply