Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

Difference between these two options?

For technical support visit https://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
ozgurerdogan
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:08 pm

Difference between these two options?

Post by ozgurerdogan »

Difference between these two options? 2nd option keeps file in a sub folder called $SVB$ whereas 1st keeps on its original place?

Decisions - Files:
Delete file from destination if it hasn't been modified within the last x days : 30 Days

Versioning:
Keep versions for a maximum of x days : 30 Days
ozgurerdogan
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:08 pm

Re: Difference between these two options?

Post by ozgurerdogan »

ozgurerdogan wrote:Difference between these two options? 2nd option keeps file in a sub folder called $SVB$ whereas 1st keeps on its original place?

Decisions - Files:
Delete file from destination if it hasn't been modified within the last x days : 30 Days

Versioning:
Keep versions for a maximum of x days : 30 Days
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Difference between these two options?

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

The option “Delete a file from destination if it hasn't been modified within the last 30 Days” deletes a destination only file if its last modification date/time stamps are older than 30 days, and the option “Keep versions for a maximum of 30 Days” tells SyncBackPro to delete a version file from the hidden $SBV$ folder (that is created before updating, deleting or moving a destination file), if its versioned date & time is older than 30 days.

Note that when SyncBackPro creates a version file it will record the date & time when the version was made. This is not the last modification date & time of the file, nor is it the creation date & time of the file, it is the date & time when the version was created. SyncBackPro will take this versioned date & time into account when deleting out-dated versioned files from the $SBV$ folder.

Please read the Help file for more details. With Copy/Delete > Versioning setting page opened, press F1 to open the contextual help for more details

Thank you.
ozgurerdogan
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:08 pm

Re: Difference between these two options?

Post by ozgurerdogan »

Sorry for opening this thread again. But how can I delete a file from FTP if file / folder does not exit in source immediately? (I already enabled versioning)
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Difference between these two options?

Post by cliffhanger »

I think you are asking (with edited phrasing / corrected typo)
...how can I [immediately] delete a file from FTP [destination] if file does not exist in source?
Set the option on Decisions-Files settings page, 3rd group ('File is in the destination but not the source') to
  • Delete file from destination if it hasn't been modified within the last [0] Days
This will normally delete such an orphan file immediately (the 0 argument tells the profile to disregard the LastModified stamp). However, if you have Versioning set up on the Destination, this means the orphan file will be Versioned immediately (moving it to the Version repository) instead of being deleted. How long it is retained as a Version thereafter will depend on your Versioning settings/rules.
Post Reply