Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

For technical support visit https://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
User avatar
DocRD
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:31 am

SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by DocRD »

Hello,

i've just updated to SyncBackPro v8 and like to use the new
function SyncBack Container, but i always get the error code 183:
10:39:20: Bitte warten...
10:39:20: Fehler: Container mount to D:\ failed: System Error. Code: 183.
Eine Datei kann nicht erstellt werden, wenn sie bereits vorhanden ist (D:\Container_Aktenschrank.sbc)
Please help.

Many thanks.

Kai
Kostas
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:08 am

Re: SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by Kostas »

Hi,

Can you please post a screenshot of your container's settings form?

Thanks,
Kostas
[2bs]
User avatar
DocRD
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:31 am

Re: SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by DocRD »

Hello Kostas,

thank you for the fast reply.

Here is the screenshot you want. The file exists, but SyncBack
can't access the container.
SB8_Container_Screenshot.jpg
SB8_Container_Screenshot.jpg (112.45 KiB) Viewed 5696 times
best regards

Kai
Kostas
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:08 am

Re: SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by Kostas »

Hi,

The problem is that you have set the mounting point to be drive D: which is already occupied (in use). You need to select any other drive letter that is available (free), e.g. Z:, X:, Y:

Just open File Explorer and see which drive letters are unused.

Thanks,
Kostas
[2bs]
User avatar
DocRD
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:31 am

Re: SyncBack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by DocRD »

Hello Kostas,

this was the error... sorry, didn't see it #-o

Many thanks for the fast and competent support =D> :D

best regards

Kai
Kostas
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:08 am

Re: SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by Kostas »

You are welcome :)

May I know what Windows version you are using?

Thanks,
Kostas
[2bs]
User avatar
DocRD
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:31 am

Re: SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by DocRD »

sure. I use Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-Bit

best regards
Kai
morice
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:13 pm

Re: SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by morice »

Going to hijack this topic for a moment to say that the stand-alone SyncBack Container Mount application doesn't allow me to install the required drivers. The text "Drivers must be installed first. Click here to install them." is not clickable.

Hovering over the message in Profile Setup does show the little hand cursor, and it installed fine.

Using V8.0.1.0
morice
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:13 pm

Re: SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by morice »

Also when i use the big 'Use' button in the stand-alone container mount setup/settings. It says the mount is successful, but nothing appears to have actually been mounted. When i press OK and use the main Mount container button it is mounting fine.

Why are there two different ways anyway, is the thing in settings just a test? Because then it should be called test. :roll:

Another thing. It appears to be read-only?
Kostas
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:08 am

Re: SyncCack Container doesn't work (Code 183)

Post by Kostas »

Hi,

You need to run the application as an administrator in order to be able to install the drivers. We'll add some extra text on that label to clarify this.

Clicking the Use button will not mount it for you, it is just testing it at that stage to make sure that the file you have chosen is a valid container. You will need to mount it yourself using the Mount Container button. :)

And yes it is read-only for your own protection, imagine some ransomware, virus, etc having access to the mounted container. :twisted:

Thanks,
Kostas
[2bs]
Post Reply