Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

Change profile type

For technical support visit https://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
LaryW
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:53 pm

Change profile type

Post by LaryW »

I created a backup profile but have decided I want change it to sync. Can I do that from within the backup profile or do I have to create a new sync profile from scratch?

Syncback pro v8 on windows 10
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Change profile type

Post by cliffhanger »

Hi, you can change profile Type within the Modify screen (right-click profile > Modify)

Check the tree on left - if there is no Type option visible to click, the Modify screen must be in Expert mode; click the Easy option (foot of tree) to switch to Easy mode, and Type will now be visible (third option down on tree). Click it, and select Synchronize from the options on the Type dialog. This will instantly switch your settings to a default 'factory-settings' Intelligent Synchronization.

Note that switching Type will immediately discard any custom (non-default) rules that you may have selected before, and will replace them with the factory-settings of the Type you just chose.

If you want to see/review/change the default rules/Actions this creates, switch back to Expert mode and go to Decisions-Files option on tree, etc. Remember you can always run Simulations if you wish to fine-tune or experiment.
LaryW
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:53 pm

Re: Change profile type

Post by LaryW »

Unless I'm blind or doing something totally wrong I don't see "Type".

Here's a screenshot of the tree.
syncback.png
syncback.png (8.12 KiB) Viewed 5051 times
ProfileX
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:06 pm

Re: Change profile type

Post by ProfileX »

You skipped a step, it's still in Expert mode. Click for Options, switch to Easy mode.
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Change profile type

Post by cliffhanger »

ProfileX wrote:You skipped a step, it's still in Expert mode
Not sure I did, actually
cliffhanger wrote:Check the tree on left - if there is no Type option visible to click, the Modify screen must be in Expert mode; click the Easy option (foot of tree) to switch to Easy mode, and Type will now be visible (third option down on tree)
I think maybe you did :wink:

There are two ways to change mode - one is to click the toggling entry in the tree itself (which if in Expert mode will show an Easy option, and vice versa); the other way is via Click For Options, which you found for yourself
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Change profile type

Post by cliffhanger »

@profileX
Sorry - just realised you're not the OP! :roll:
Thanks for filling in...
LaryW
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:53 pm

Re: Change profile type

Post by LaryW »

Thank you. I misread your instructions and thought I need to be in Expert mode. I see Type now.
Post Reply