Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

For technical support visit https://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
Milo2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:10 am

Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Milo2 »

Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed
Instead of using the system fonts like every other program on earth since 1990, you use your own font system which makes your menus unreadable on modern computers. Look at what you have done to the text in the system tray. And yes, this is on 2brightsparks. Every other app uses system fonts.
This is how your menus look on an HP Envy 17t 4k UHD,
And I went through every bit of your forums and help and see that the font size error is on purpose to insure compatibility with all languages and computers.
Attachments
syncback -cant register - font error3.jpg
syncback -cant register - font error3.jpg (155.32 KiB) Viewed 3681 times
syncback -cant register - font error2.jpg
syncback -cant register - font error2.jpg (118.7 KiB) Viewed 3681 times
syncback -cant register - font error.jpg
syncback -cant register - font error.jpg (440.54 KiB) Viewed 3681 times
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 992
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

We have answered via parallel support ticket

Thank you.
ckit
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:20 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by ckit »

I have the same problem and would like a solution!
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 992
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

We have fixed display problems with high DPI in Pro V8 version. So, if you are using Pro V7 (or older version) then I suggest testing with V8 to see if it helps?

If you do not own a copy of SyncBackPro V8 and wish to test it's functions, you are welcome to try our fully functional SyncBack, which we offer a free 30-day evaluation.

http://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/sof ... _Setup.exe

Do not uninstall and reinstall, or you'll lose your profiles & settings. Just install 'over the top'.

Before you upgrade to SyncBackPro V8, please read the last section of this article (Re: "I am using V5/V6/V7 but would like to try V8....") to back up a copy of your profiles to ensure you have a backup in case of mishaps.

http://support.2brightsparks.com/knowle ... 7-upgrades

If you do decide to upgrade, the serial number will convert the 'trial' to the 'registered' version.

Thank you.
Milo2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:10 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Milo2 »

Swapna wrote:
Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:56 pm
Hi,

We have answered via parallel support ticket

Thank you.
How arrogant.
Post the link if it happened.
2brightsparks needs to ban users like you.
Arrogant.
Milo2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:10 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Milo2 »

Swapna wrote:
Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:11 am
We have fixed display problems with high DPI in Pro V8 version. So, if you are using Pro V7 (or older version) then I suggest testing with V8 to see if it helps?
So 2brightsparks purposely broke V7 to force users to spend $25 to be able to use the menus again?
Who is the president of the company?
Timur Born
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:25 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Timur Born »

Hm, I installed the trial of v7.12.12 on Windows 10 (1803) and ran it on my 4K TV at 200% Windows DPI settings. Did you try the DPI compatibility settings of Windows yet (right-click on icon -> Properties -> Compatibility -> High DPI Scaling)?

Also looks good enough on a 2k display at 120% DPI (everything below 125% uses Windows' old scaling algorithm from before Windows 7).
Timur Born
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:25 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Timur Born »

What I meant was that I can run V7 without DPI issues, aka my menus are properly sized. What DPI setting do you use?
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 992
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

Support for SyncBackPro/SE V7 is officially ended on 1st Dec 2017. A fix for this display issue was found and pushed out after V7 support ended.

As we do not provide support for obsolete versions, the fix was not included in V7 and only applied in V8.

Thank you for your understanding.
Timur Born
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:25 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by Timur Born »

Sorry, it seems that I messed up my short test. Indeed the problem persists even after using Windows' compatibility settings. Too bad.
ckit
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:20 am

Re: Menu fonts are too big and can't be fixed

Post by ckit »

I just tried pasting my v7 serial number from PDF XChange Editor 7.0.360.1 into the field on https://www.2brightsparks.com/check_serial8.html and Look all the dashes are gone! Making the serial number invalid, typing it manually works but your site says "copy and paste"

Browsers tried...
Edge, Chrome 68 Stable, Vivaldi 1.15 Stable
Post Reply