I'm a commercial user of SyncBackPro v6. I finally just installed the v8 trial to evaluate if I want to purchase the upgrade, & immediately noticed a regression.
Under Settings->FTP->Advanced, Reconnect Attempts is now limited to just 16. Previously you were able to set values as high as 65,535. In my case, this makes the v8 update unusable.
I spend long periods overseas, in countries with extremely spotty/unreliable internet - connections may drop for a few minutes, or for an hour or more. By setting a high retry value I've always been able leave SyncBack running, & eventually it would complete. But with this new extremely low limit, if the internet ever goes out for more than a few minutes, the task will hit the 16th retry & just stop. Whereas I could previously go to sleep & a long task would eventually finish...with v8, by morning the task has always stopped.
Is there a reason for this regression? I would like to buy the upgrade, but as mentioned...cannot use the new version with this very low FTP retry limit.
Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:
- This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
- If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.
- If you are entitled to technical support then please submit a support ticket. Please do not post the same question to the forum and also via a support ticket. Once again, 2BrightSparks does not provide technical support via this forum.
SyncBackPro v6 -> v8, FTP Regression (retries)?
-
- Enthusiastic
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:04 am
-
- 2BrightSparks Staff
- Posts: 480
- Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:51 pm
Re: SyncBackPro v6 -> v8, FTP Regression (retries)?
Hi, I don't recall when why we reduced it, but it was probably because someone had set the value very high and it had caused other problems.
Anyway, we've set the limit to 65535 for the next release. Keep it mind that if you have 5 seconds between each retry attempt (the default) then if you set the retry attempts to 65535, it means it could retry for 327,675 seconds, which is over 5,461 minutes, which is over 91 hours...that's a long time
You can download a beta of Pro V8, with the change, here:
32-bit: https://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/so ... _Setup.exe
64-bit: https://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/so ... _Setup.exe
Thanks
Anyway, we've set the limit to 65535 for the next release. Keep it mind that if you have 5 seconds between each retry attempt (the default) then if you set the retry attempts to 65535, it means it could retry for 327,675 seconds, which is over 5,461 minutes, which is over 91 hours...that's a long time

You can download a beta of Pro V8, with the change, here:
32-bit: https://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/so ... _Setup.exe
64-bit: https://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/so ... _Setup.exe
Thanks
-
- Enthusiastic
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:04 am
Re: SyncBackPro v6 -> v8, FTP Regression (retries)?
Awesome, thanks for the quick turnaround! I'll give it a try next time I'm in a city with reliable enough internet for the download 
>>Keep it mind that if you have 5 seconds between each retry attempt (the default) then if you set the retry attempts to 65535...
Yup, I know - it wasn't necessarily that I need the absolute max setting...but certainly much higher than just 16
For example, 5sec w/ 2880 retries means it could "withstand" a 4-hour internet outage, etc.
Anyway, thanks again!

>>Keep it mind that if you have 5 seconds between each retry attempt (the default) then if you set the retry attempts to 65535...
Yup, I know - it wasn't necessarily that I need the absolute max setting...but certainly much higher than just 16

Anyway, thanks again!
-
- Enthusiastic
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:04 am
Re: SyncBackPro v6 -> v8, FTP Regression (retries)?
Alright, so I had a chance to give this a try. Although the setting does indeed allow its original max, oddly, it still seems like there are cases when it aborts prematurely (which I hadn't experienced wit v6). My settings are for 65535 reconnect attempts w/ 5 secs each (screenshot: http://take.ms/NjYal), so it should either complete, or retry for 91 hours. However, when I started a task & went to sleep, by morning it had stopped (result shows as "Aborted").
The log shows "User aborted or the profile run-time limit was reached" (screenshot: http://take.ms/9HFm2), but there is no time limit set (screenshot: http://take.ms/Vu4Hj). You can see in the log that it only ran for an hour and a half.
Non-critical errors shows: 47 reconnections where made to the FTP server. Check your network, router, firewall, and FTP server settings.
Errors shows: The profile was aborted because the connection to the FTP server was lost and could not be re-established.
So...I'm not sure why it still aborts after 1.5 hours & 47 retries, when it should go to 65535 retries... :/
The log shows "User aborted or the profile run-time limit was reached" (screenshot: http://take.ms/9HFm2), but there is no time limit set (screenshot: http://take.ms/Vu4Hj). You can see in the log that it only ran for an hour and a half.
Non-critical errors shows: 47 reconnections where made to the FTP server. Check your network, router, firewall, and FTP server settings.
Errors shows: The profile was aborted because the connection to the FTP server was lost and could not be re-established.
So...I'm not sure why it still aborts after 1.5 hours & 47 retries, when it should go to 65535 retries... :/
-
- 2BrightSparks Staff
- Posts: 411
- Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:08 am
Re: SyncBackPro v6 -> v8, FTP Regression (retries)?
Hi,
Can you set the Scan Threads parameter to 1 and see if it behaves as expected next time?
Thanks,
Kostas
![2BrightSparks [2bs]](./images/smilies/2bs.gif)
Can you set the Scan Threads parameter to 1 and see if it behaves as expected next time?
Thanks,
Kostas
![2BrightSparks [2bs]](./images/smilies/2bs.gif)
-
- 2BrightSparks Staff
- Posts: 480
- Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:51 pm
Re: SyncBackPro v6 -> v8, FTP Regression (retries)?
Hi, I think we may have found the issue and have uploaded a new beta:
32-bit: https://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/so ... _Setup.exe
64-bit: https://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/so ... _Setup.exe
Thanks
32-bit: https://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/so ... _Setup.exe
64-bit: https://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/so ... _Setup.exe
Thanks
-
- Enthusiastic
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:04 am
Re: SyncBackPro v6 -> v8, FTP Regression (retries)?
Great! Thanks again for the quick turnaround, I'll give that a try & let you know if it pops up again (it isn't necessarily consistently repeatable - i.e. it took a couple of nights before the first time it happened, so it may be a bit until we can be "confident" it's all good) 
