Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

Status windows doesnt update

SyncBackFree is the freeware version of SyncBack. It is *not* an evaluation version of SyncBackPro/SE.
Post Reply
swebs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:23 pm

Status windows doesnt update

Post by swebs »

I'm running windows 10 (64bit) and SyncBackFree 7.6.64.0

When I open the status window the Next Run always shows a date that's past for example right now it shows the task that ran last night (4/20) as Next Run 4/17/2017 3:00:00AM. It also shows Failure in the Results column. When I click on the task and select View Log the log shows everything correct with no errors and that it ran on 4/20/17 at 3:00:00AM.

Does anyone else had this issue and figured out how to correct it?

Thanks in advance
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Status windows doesnt update

Post by cliffhanger »

I take it you mean the main SB window (listing all profiles) that appears on manual program start-up. If so, I'm not sure how you "open" this window? If you switch back to this main window from another window in that instance of SB (e.g. if you close a profile Modify window) it should re-poll all the profiles for the latest info contained in their INI files and display (repaint) that info. Likewise if you re-start SB completely afresh, it should re-poll all the profiles. However, if SB has been open/idle in the background for some time, and you switch back (Alt-Tab, etc.) to that idle instance of SB from another application (or, from your Windows desktop), that doesn't count as an open event or a re-poll/repaint cue in SB.

So, if SB has been sitting in the background (with main window open) and a separate instance of SB* has run a profile on a Schedule then closed again, then the idle foreground copy you now just switched to hasn't had a re-poll/repaint cue since the Scheduled run started/ended, so it will display the status info still in its memory, not the updated info in the profile's INI (on disk). You can however force a re-poll/repaint by pressing F5 (or use Profiles menu > Refresh ), which should update/display the stored values for all profiles 'as of right now'


* Scheduled Tasks (and the profiles they trigger) always start/use/close a separate background instance of SB to run a Scheduled profile. It therefore follows that you don't need to leave a copy of SB open to achieve a Scheduled run (just in case you thought that was true)
swebs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:23 pm

Re: Status windows doesnt update

Post by swebs »

I close the SB. To open it I click the icon in my system tray. I would think clicking the icon in system tray to open the SB window would do a refresh?

If I close the icon out of the system tray then my profiles won't run?
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Status windows doesnt update

Post by cliffhanger »

If you're 'closing' SB so that its icon still appears in the system tray afterwards, that instance of SB is still running, and you presumably have the program set to Minimize To Tray and Minimize On (I.e.instead of) Close via the settings with those names on the main Preferences menu. That's equivalent to leaving SB running and switching to another app's open window (or clicking bottom right of screen to 'view desktop')- SB is idle, and simply making the SB UI visible on screen (giving it the focus) again doesn't count as an 'open' (thus, re-poll) event, so you may need to refresh it with F5 (especially if the updated statistics were initiated by a different copy of SB, which - if the profile you mentioned ran on a Schedule - they will have been)
If I close the icon out of the system tray then my profiles won't run?
It depends how your profiles are triggered.If they are (all) Scheduled, they will still run (the Windows Task Scheduler will start a hidden instance of SB to run it/them, and close the hidden instance again afterwards). This is how the Scheduler works, and is how profiles can be run even if you're not logged in, much less have a copy of SB running all the time. OTOH, profiles configured to run Periodically in the background (not the same thing as Scheduling) do need a copy of SB running all the time (that you want such profiles to trigger). These articles have more background (note: as stated therein, many of these options are not supported in the freeware version)

http://support.2brightsparks.com/knowle ... nd-running
http://support.2brightsparks.com/knowle ... can-be-run
ldries46
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:49 am

Re: Status windows doesnt update

Post by ldries46 »

I have a problen that is simular.
Last executed does not change but Next date is changed.
Last succecfull execution is also not updated
I checked and the backup is not executed. Manual execution does work.
In the windows taskscheduler I also checked and all tasks are shown.
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Status windows doesnt update

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

As the ‘Next Run’ column was updated by the Windows Task Scheduler, I guess the task was triggered (at the scheduled date/time), but the profile didn’t run, hence the ‘Last Run’ and ‘Last Scheduled Run’ columns were not updated.

Please open-up the Task Scheduler from control panel and go to SyncBack branch/node. Make sure you expand the tree on the left column until you find SyncBackFree and select the sub-branch (of SyncBackFree) with your Computer-User Account name to see the tasks which will be populated on the center pane.

From there, you need to check under the History tab of the profile name (which failed to run) to find out if your profile is running properly. If History is disabled, you will need to enable it and reboot and check back (on the History tab of Task Scheduler) again once the scheduled time has passed to see the results.

In addition, please delete and recreate the schedule task from:

Modify > When > Edit Schedule settings page

to see if it helps?

Thank you.
ldries46
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:49 am

Re: Status windows doesnt update

Post by ldries46 »

In the History of the Task Scheduler only the moment the task is changed is mentioned
Post Reply