Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

When doing synchronisation, deleted files are copied back

SyncBackFree is the freeware version of SyncBack. It is *not* an evaluation version of SyncBackPro/SE.
Post Reply
Xema
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:23 am

When doing synchronisation, deleted files are copied back

Post by Xema »

Hello everyone,

I have a recently set up a synchronization between my working directory and my NAS at home. What I wanted is the following: during the night I want those two directories to sync, meaning that every change made on either one of the directory is applied to the other one.

Those are the rules I applied ("Decisions - Files" in the Settings pannel):
- Most recent files overwrite least ones (synchronization)
- What to do if the file exist on Source but not on FTP: Copy the file into FTP
- What to do if the file exist on FTP but not on Source: Copy the file into Source

It works fine with only one problem : the files I delete either on Source or FTP are copied back during synchronization. I understand this seems to be the normal behavior having the rules I stated above. But how can I overcome that ?

Thank you and have a great day !

Xem'
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: When doing synchronisation, deleted files are copied back

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

Please refer to these post for more details:

viewtopic.php?t=12249

viewtopic.php?t=11468

Thank you.
Xema
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:23 am

Re: When doing synchronisation, deleted files are copied back

Post by Xema »

Thank you very much for your reply!

The SyncBackLite software is said to have this Intelligent Synchronization. Do you confirm that I would be able to do this with the Lite version?

Xem'
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: When doing synchronisation, deleted files are copied back

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

Yes, Intelligent synchronization is supported in SyncBackLite/SE/Pro versions. If you do not own a copy of SyncBackLite and wish to test it's functions, you are welcome to try our fully functional SyncBackLite, which we offer a free 30-day evaluation.

http://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/sof ... _Setup.exe

If you do decide to purchase, the serial number will convert the 'trial' to the 'registered' version.

Thank you.
Post Reply