Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

In Mirror mode, a loophole?

SyncBackFree is the freeware version of SyncBack. It is *not* an evaluation version of SyncBackPro/SE.
Post Reply
rseiler
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 1:59 am

In Mirror mode, a loophole?

Post by rseiler »

Let's say you have these source folders mirrored:
d:\1
d:\2
d:\3
d:\4
d:\5

As expected, they're on the backup device (which, for clarity, let's say is e:). At some point, you manually delete d:\3 and d:\4, but much later you discover that they're still on the backup device, which is not how mirroring works.

Of course, the directories are far more numerous than the above, so I didn't notice this for quite a long time. How could it have happened? I think at some point, I modified the job so that d:\3 and d:\4 were no longer being backed up, and in that case, SyncBack correctly ignores them and so never deleted them on the destination once they were deleted on the source.

Is this a loophole of sorts? Yes, it's doing what you told it to do (ignore folders), but Is there an option/function which would have deleted the two folders on the destination (once they were deleted on the source) even though they were deselected earlier? Because if not, you can get into a messy situation where you have a lot of obsolete things on the destination.
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: In Mirror mode, a loophole?

Post by cliffhanger »

Hi, it's because you first told SB to Ignore the folders, then you deleted them from Source, without re-setting the profile to stop ignoring them (on the Destination). This KB article refers.

Basically, the default behavior always was (and remains, for legacy reasons) to ignore any de-selected folders if all you do is de-select them (bearing in mind that, previously, 'ignore' was all you could do). There is now an option in official-release V8 (from Free to Pro) to right-click and optionally set SB to Delete any folders you just de-selected (you can also go back and set this Delete option later, provided the folder is de-selected already/first). Press F1 with the de-selection ('Choose subdirectories and files') dialog open and you will see the commands mentioned in the contextual Help.

There is some more background to the debate on the subject here

Note that this option presently only exists for folders (not individual files), and that planned deletions are not shown in the Differences window (see last para of mickyj's post)
rseiler
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 1:59 am

Re: In Mirror mode, a loophole?

Post by rseiler »

Thanks! This was so narrow a case that I never imagined it had been discussed previously.

That new feature should help when used with "Show files and folders only on destination."
Post Reply