Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

How do I setup a realtime synch

SyncBackFree is the freeware version of SyncBack. It is *not* an evaluation version of SyncBackPro/SE.
Post Reply
KLeinen
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:59 pm

How do I setup a realtime synch

Post by KLeinen »

Hi,

I have a pretty basic need. I need to keep my G:\ ( backup ) drive in synch with my F:\ ( primary ) drive. These are both external drives that I use to hold data, pictures etc. How do I setup a profile to see when a picture\file\folder gets added, changed or deleted on my F:\ drave and automatically add\changed\deleted on the G:\ drive?

Thanks!

Kelly
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 992
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: How do I setup a realtime synch

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

Realtime synchronization is only supported in SyncBackPro/SE versions, but not in SyncBackFree. Please read ‘Automatic backup and sync when files change’ article for details on how to enable real-time sync in Pro/SE and the important points to consider when using that option:

http://support.2brightsparks.com/knowle ... les-change

If you do not own a copy of SyncBackPro/SE and wish to test its functions, you are welcome to try our fully functional SyncBack, which we offer a free 30-day evaluation.

http://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/sof ... _Setup.exe

http://www.2brightsparks.com/assets/sof ... _Setup.exe

If you do decide to purchase, the serial number will convert the 'trial' to the 'registered' version.

Thank you.
insite
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:45 am

Re: How do I setup a realtime synch

Post by insite »

is there a way to use a similar function but not in real time in free version?
in other words when I delete a file from one side and then run the sync it should be deleted from the other side, is that possible?
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: How do I setup a realtime synch

Post by cliffhanger »

There are limitations to the sync capability in the Free version - more details above & here. Basically, it can do what you asked about (propagate a deletion from one side to the other) but what if you created a new file on the 'one side'? You can configure a basic sync to copy such a file to the other side instead, but you cannot do both (propagate both creations and deletions) on the same run using the same configuration - you have to choose one decision/action or the other / configure the profile accordingly. Whereas an Intelligent Sync in the commercial versions (Pro, SE, Lite) can decide for itself what to do as per your configuration choices (provided you have run that profile once already, so it has built a record of 'what was where' previously; you may need to monitor run-1 (only) to intervene in any 'one side only' file decisions that arise on run-1).

Note: some posts on the forum (including one in this thread) suggest 'only the Pro & SE' versions support Intelligent Sync - because they were written before the Lite version was released. The Lite version also supports this now. You can try the Lite version (also, SE & Pro) free for 30 days if you wish, provided you install the different version/s to different program folders (accepting the location/s proposed by the installer/s is the easy way)
Post Reply