Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

Profile disabled

SyncBackFree is the freeware version of SyncBack. It is *not* an evaluation version of SyncBackPro/SE.
Post Reply
lunis.j
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:27 pm

Profile disabled

Post by lunis.j »

Syncback SE v6.4.3.8 / W8

Recently one of my profiles displays :disabled" under status. I right click the profile, select "enabled,' but nothing happens. How do I enable the profile?
mmullins_98
Expert
Expert
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:40 am

Re: Profile disabled

Post by mmullins_98 »

You are posting in the Syncback Free forum but you show using SyncbackSE. If you imported a profile from SyncbackSe into SyncbackFree then here is a list of reasons for an invalid profile.

Invalid Profiles

If you import or run a profile that has settings which cannot be used in your version of SyncBackFree, or is from a newer version of SyncBackFree, then you will receive one of the following error messages:

The profile "profile name" contains settings that cannot be used with this version of SyncBackFree

The profile "profile name" is from a newer version of SyncBackFree. It is unlikely that the profile will function correctly.

There are several possible settings that could cause this:

·The profile is using Amazon S3, or a compatible service (e.g. Google Storage), and it has the option set to split files into chunks when uploading. This feature is no longer supported as the size restriction was greatly increased in SyncBackPro V6.1. Using that feature had a large performance impact, and with the size restriction effectively removed, the feature was removed. SyncBackPro has automatically disabled profiles using the "split files" setting to stop their accidental use. There are two options if you have split files in a bucket:

1.If you do not need the split files on the cloud (e.g. you have a local copy or another backup) then you could re-enable the profile (right-click on it in the main user interface and select Enable from the pop-up menu) and run it. SyncBackPro will automatically delete all the split files on the cloud, including any versions which are split. Depending on the configuration of your profile, it will then upload your local copies of those split files.

2.If you do not have another copy of the split files on the cloud (i.e. the cloud copies are the only copy) then you will need to restore the split files using an older version of SyncBackPro:

·Download and install SyncBackPro V6.0. Install over your current version. Do not uninstall.

·Re-enable the disabled cloud profiles that are using the "split files" setting (you can re-enable the profile(s) by right-clicking on them and selecting Enable from the pop-up menu).

·Restore your split files by running the cloud profiles in Restore mode. From the Differences window you could then choose only the split files (which files are split depends upon their size, there is no way to tell from the Differences window if a file is split or not).

·Now you have a local copy of your split files.

·Download and install SyncBackPro V6.1 or newer. Install over the V6.0 version. Do not uninstall.

·Depending on the configuration of your profile, when the new cloud profiles are run they will upload the files.

If you are unsure about what to do please contact 2BrightSparks Technical Support before you do anything.

·The profile is from a newer version of SyncBackFree. It is not recommended that you import profiles from newer versions as the settings may not be compatible. SyncBackFree is backwards compatible with older versions, but it is not forwards compatible, i.e. it cannot know how future versions will store or name their settings. You should update your version of SyncBackFree (via Help -> Update Check in the main menu).

·It is an Intelligent Synchronization profile and this version of SyncBack does not support Intelligent Synchronization. sbl-no-feature-16x16 SyncBackFree does not support Intelligent Synchronization.

·It is a Fast Backup profile and this version of SyncBack does not support that. sbl-no-feature-16x16 SyncBackFree does not support Fast Backup.

·You are using email (backup from) and this version of SyncBack does not support that. sbl-no-feature-16x16 SyncBackFree does not support backup of emails or to an email server.

·You are using the cloud and this version of SyncBack does not support that. sbl-no-feature-16x16 SyncBackFree does not support any cloud services.

·You are using scripting and this version of SyncBack does not support that. sbl-no-feature-16x16 SyncBackFree does not support scripting.

·You are using versioning and this version of SyncBack does not support that. sbl-no-feature-16x16 SyncBackFree does not support versioning.

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2020
lunis.j
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:27 pm

Re: Profile disabled

Post by lunis.j »

Thanks for the response. As it turns out, next time it was scheduled to run (weekly), it ran with "Success." Don't know why. Don't care why. It worked. Thanks for the response.
Post Reply