Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

Why do I occasionally get his warning

SyncBackFree is the freeware version of SyncBack. It is *not* an evaluation version of SyncBackPro/SE.
Post Reply
needowelum
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:05 pm

Why do I occasionally get his warning

Post by needowelum »

I get this warning, even tho the profile has the identical settings as other profiles that don't give me the prompt?

https://i.postimg.cc/zXQN5xfM/SYNCBACK.jpg
Attachments
SYNCBACK.jpg
SYNCBACK.jpg (15.87 KiB) Viewed 2453 times
needowelum
Enthusiastic
Enthusiastic
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:05 pm

Re: Why do I occasionally get his warning

Post by needowelum »

These are my settings

Image

What is ambiguous about these selections? The source will overwrite the destination. Files in the destination, but not the source, will be eliminated.

Without complicating things (i.e., trying to interpret "100% or more of my Source files". We're only referring to "source" files. I don't know a better way to say this, but now can you eliminate more files than you have?), can we simply confirm that this warning

https://i.postimg.cc/43cfBhmW/sync.png

Is perfectly understandable essentially as an extra/final precautionary alert, that once you proceed, there is no going back? To be sure that your settings are precisely defining your goals? And if your not sure, best to check before you continue?

What I think is most unclear (the original intention of my inquiry here) was to determine why, if the vast majority of my profiles have the identical "decisions" you see in the first image. don't I get this warning for every backup attempt, but just for a select few, unless I permanently dismiss the notification? In a scenario like this, the initial impression is that the user has done something wrong, if there profiles have been singled out. It's not a random warning. It occurs with the same profiles, every time.

I value Syncback. This is not a criticism. Just trying to understand the logic. I'm sure there's a valid explanation.

thanks
Attachments
syncback.png
syncback.png (88.81 KiB) Viewed 2438 times
rP1h8qb.jpeg
rP1h8qb.jpeg (65.51 KiB) Viewed 2438 times
Post Reply