Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

touch licensing

SyncBack Touch is a cross-platform (Windows, macOS, Linux and Android) file server for use with SyncBackPro and SyncBackSE. It is free to use with SyncBackPro/SE V10 or newer. For technical support visit https://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
olidie
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:39 pm

touch licensing

Post by olidie »

Hello,

I have been using Syncback Pro with Syncback Touch on my Android phone and tablet with great satisfaction. Now I had to replace my phone with a new one and therefore adjusted the profile that I am using to transfer pictures to my pc. Now I always get the result "Touch licensing" when I try to run the profile.

I know that Syncback Pro allows me to connect to 2 Syncback Touch devices. Does a new phone mean that I exceed this limit? It's still only two devices that I am using Syncback Touch with. Just a new phone with a different ID.

kind regards
Oliver
cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: touch licensing

Post by cliffhanger »

I'm guessing you still have at least one profile configured to point to your old phone (either by device name or by IP), not yet edited to suit (or, deleted) - thus, profiles configured to point to old-phone, tablet and new-phone. It may be there is an old/spare/test profile somewhere in your collection, maybe hidden in a collapsed Group.

As I understand it, the Touch-license check runs a SQL (etc) unique-values query on all the profiles configured to use Touch, that returns a list/count of the number of unique* devices, and if this exceeds the amount you are licensed for, suppresses all Touch use and warns you. It's not a case of how many separate* devices you use, but how many devices you have specified across all your profiles.

You'd need to remedy this manually, either by editing the profiles (to new device name or IP) or deleting them. I'm not aware of any special means to search for Touch-using profiles manually, unless maybe you have 'Touch', 'Android', 'Phone', etc as part of the profile name. If so, you can use Ctrl-F in the main SB UI, enter the appropriate search term > Return / F3 for Next. This should also expand any closed Groups if it finds a hit inside it, which can be very helpful. You can then Modify the profile, and check/edit the ID configured in the Touch page. I suspect you need a new Find after each edit, BTW.


* I believe the query returns/counts any unique values. If you have multiple profiles configured to point to the same device - some by Device ID, some by IP - the query will see/count these as separate devices (c/o their different textual values). It certainly used to some months ago, anyhow: I can't easily test now, as I obtained a 5-license upgrade a while ago.
olidie
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: touch licensing

Post by olidie »

cliffhanger wrote:I'm guessing you still have at least one profile configured to point to your old phone (either by device name or by IP), not yet edited to suit (or, deleted) - thus, profiles configured to point to old-phone, tablet and new-phone. It may be there is an old/spare/test profile somewhere in your collection, maybe hidden in a collapsed Group.
Thank you, cliffhanger. This was the case. One old profile still pointed to my old phone. Interesstingly the new profile backing up the new phone worked when I started Syncback on the next day without having done any changes at all. Still I modified all old profile linked to the old phone.
You'd need to remedy this manually, either by editing the profiles (to new device name or IP) or deleting them. I'm not aware of any special means to search for Touch-using profiles manually, unless maybe you have 'Touch', 'Android', 'Phone', etc as part of the profile name. If so, you can use Ctrl-F in the main SB UI, enter the appropriate search term > Return / F3 for Next. This should also expand any closed Groups if it finds a hit inside it, which can be very helpful. You can then Modify the profile, and check/edit the ID configured in the Touch page. I suspect you need a new Find after each edit, BTW.
Thank you again for this helpfull answer with a lot of insight!

Oliver
Post Reply